By the Way, Meet Vera Stark


Date
Tue, October 24 | 7:30pm
Add to Calendar
Thu, October 26 | 7:30pm
Add to Calendar
Fri, October 27 | 7:30pm
Add to Calendar
Sat, October 28 | 7:30pm
Add to Calendar
Sun, October 29 | 2:00pm
Add to Calendar
Wed, November 1 | 7:30pm
Add to Calendar
Thu, November 2 | 7:30pm
Add to Calendar
Fri, November 3 | 7:30pm
Add to Calendar
Sat, November 4 | 7:30pm
Add to Calendar
Sun, November 5 | 2:00pm
Add to Calendar
This event occurs 10 times (click to expand date list)
Presented by
Event Categories
Unavailable
PREVIEW SUBSCRIPTION (New this year!)
REGULAR, UWAA, UW, SENIORS: $48 \ STUDENTS: $42
OPENING NIGHT SUBSCRIPTION (New this year!)
REGULAR: $114 \ UWAA, UW, SENIORS: $78 \ STUDENTS: $54
CLASSIC SUBSCRIPTION
REGULAR: $102 \ UWAA, UW, SENIORS: $72 \ STUDENTS: $48
 
By Lynn Nottage
Directed by Tim Bond, UW Drama faculty
 
It’s The Golden Age of Hollywood, and the streets of Los Angeles teem with aspiring starlets. When Vera Stark—maid to “America’s Sweetie Pie,” Gloria Mitchell—lands a groundbreaking role in an antebellum epic, she turns Hollywood on its head and paves the way for future generations of black actresses. Seventy years later, film buffs still wrestle with the life and legacy of this controversial star, for whom fame and fortune could only be achieved by joining the apparatus of a deeply racist industry. Hilarious and incisive, two-time Pulitzer Prize-winner Lynn Nottage’s screwball comedy is sly satire at its most urgent and satisfying.