Monstrosity


Date
Tue, November 28 | 7:30pm
Add to Calendar
Thu, November 30 | 7:30pm
Add to Calendar
Fri, December 1 | 7:30pm
Add to Calendar
Sat, December 2 | 7:30pm
Add to Calendar
Sun, December 3 | 2:00pm
Add to Calendar
Wed, December 6 | 7:30pm
Add to Calendar
Thu, December 7 | 7:30pm
Add to Calendar
Fri, December 8 | 7:30pm
Add to Calendar
Sat, December 9 | 7:30pm
Add to Calendar
Sun, December 10 | 2:00pm
Add to Calendar
This event occurs 10 times (click to expand date list)
Presented by
Event Categories
Buy Tickets
PREVIEW SUBSCRIPTION (New this year!)
REGULAR, UWAA, UW, SENIORS: $48 \ STUDENTS: $42
OPENING NIGHT SUBSCRIPTION (New this year!)
REGULAR: $114 \ UWAA, UW, SENIORS: $78 \ STUDENTS: $54
CLASSIC SUBSCRIPTION
REGULAR: $102 \ UWAA, UW, SENIORS: $72 \ STUDENTS: $48
 
By Lucy Thurber
Directed by Samie Spring Detzer, guest director
Presented in partnership with Washington Ensemble Theatre
 
When Tierney and Patrick’s resistance-leading parents are murdered, the siblings are conscripted into a teenage fascist training camp run by their parents’ killer. The camp’s leader would like nothing better than to prove the virtue of his worldview by grooming the uniquely gifted Tierney as his successor. His daughter Sarah, however, is bent on subverting his plan, trying instead to draw Tierney into her effort to construct a more peaceful, loving social order within their war torn reality. Epic, disturbing, fantastical, massive, and meaty, Monstrosity is a retelling of the hero's tale where girls are the heroes, youth are the powerful, and a pair of magical, bicycle-riding twins whisper at our deepest, darkest impulses.