Trojan Women: A Love Story


Date
Tue, January 16 | 7:30pm
Add to Calendar
Thu, January 18 | 7:30pm
Add to Calendar
Fri, January 19 | 7:30pm
Add to Calendar
Sat, January 20 | 7:30pm
Add to Calendar
Sun, January 21 | 2:00pm
Add to Calendar
Wed, January 24 | 7:30pm
Add to Calendar
Thu, January 25 | 7:30pm
Add to Calendar
Fri, January 26 | 7:30pm
Add to Calendar
Sat, January 27 | 7:30pm
Add to Calendar
Sun, January 28 | 2:00pm
Add to Calendar
This event occurs 10 times (click to expand date list)
Presented by
Event Categories
Buy Tickets
By Charles L. Mee
Based on the works of Euripides and Berlioz
Directed by Cody Holliday Haefner, 2nd year MFA director
 
Playwright Charles L. Mee recruits “shards of our contemporary world to lie, as in a bed of ruins, within the frame of the classical world.” In his brutal, lusty collage, Trojan Women: A Love Story, Dido reads Aeneas’ tarot cards in a post-apocalyptic spa and Cassandra incarnates as a furious dominatrix. The war is ended, yet it is unceasing: “A world destroyed by the hands of those who thought themselves the creators of civilization.” Love songs leaven war’s ravages, and a feminist utopia glitters, unreachable, on the horizon.